The First Living Below the Line Recipe (how I realised I don’t think I like dandelion leaves)

 

 

Image

 

Curried Potato Cakes in Rice Bread

Ingredients:

White long grain rice

Half a 500g tin of potatoes

A pinch of curry powder

A handful of Dandelion leaves

Recipe:

Grind rice in a coffee grinder until it becomes flour. Warning, this may take ages if your coffee grinder keeps threatening to overheat.

You need two parts rice flour and one part water.

Boil water in a pan. Add the flour and stir to make dough. Turn off the heat and put a lid on the pan.

Wait five minutes, then take off lid. Once the dough is cool enough to handle, take out and knead until smooth. This took a while, not gonna lie.

Roll out into as thin circles as you can, taking care not to tear the dough.

Heat a frying pan on a medium heat (no oil), then place a circle on the pan and wait for it to cook on one side, then turn until cooked. Ta da!

With half the tin of potatoes, microwave for a minute. Mash. Coat in rice flour and curry powder, then fry in a teeny tiny bit of lard.

Make the whole thing into a sandwich with grated carrot and dandelion.

Or just leave out the dandelion. Because it was SOOOOO bitter!

If I was to repeat this recipe, I would make the potato cakes first and the bread last and eat it with fresh bread, as it was a little hard.

More recipes to follow.

Please sponsor me at https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/jennywelsh

If anyone has any tips for how to make dandelion taste better, please let me know!

 

Leave a comment