What’s in the Cupboard? Gluten-Free Pasta Recipe

So I’m really missing pasta right now. It was my go-to dinner before gluten went out the window.

I’ve spent pretty much the last two weeks trying to find a recipe for gluten-free pasta that doesn’t involve all the ingredients in the world. I mean, I’m not made of money!

So, I decided to have a play with the ingredients I had in the cupboard. This was the outcome.

This serves one as a main meal, so if you need more, you do the math(s).

Ingredients

50g white rice flour

50g brown rice flour

25g cornflour

1 egg

1 teaspoon sunflower oil

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon water

You need

A rolling pin

A cookie cutter

A pan

A colander

Scales

Recipe

Weigh and mix up your flour.

In a separate bowl, hand whisk the egg, salt, water and oil.

Add one handful of flour, mix in. Continue until the dough forms a ball and you can roll it around the side of the bowl and collect all the excess flour.

Now’s the time to prepare a pan of boiling salted water.

Cover the side you are going to roll the pasta on with flour. If there isn’t enough flour on it, the pasta falls apart when you try and pick it up after cutting, so be generous.

Put the dough ball on the floured surface, flour a rolling pin and roll the pasta out. You want it to be a few millimetres thick.

Dip a cookie cutter in flour and cut your pasta. Once you have cut a few, you should try and gently scoop them off the side you are working on, to ensure that they aren’t going to fall apart. (The first ones I made were stuck to the side and fell totally apart). If they do fall apart, put your dough back in the bowl and re-flour your surface before trying again. 

Once your pasta shapes are ready, pop them in the boiling water for around 3 – 5 minutes (have a taste after 3 minutes to check). 

Then, gently pour into a colander and serve.

I had mine with olive oil, lemon and garlic, but I think this would be really nice with a tomato and basil sauce. 

I will be playing around with different gluten-free pasta recipes in the future. If anyone has any of their own gluten-free pasta recipes, please share it in the comments below. I’d love to see them.

 

 

Leave a comment