Nutritious and Delicious Gluten Free Dragonfruit Breakfast

When I go food shopping or make recipes I can be a creature of habit. I tend to use the same ingredients week in week out, with only slight variations.

However, it is not beneficial to eat the same foods always. Your body needs a broad variety of nutrients and by eating different foods you are more likely to cover all your bases when it comes to your body’s nutritional needs.

So on my food shop this week I endeavoured to try some new things.

I came across the dragon fruit. It looks a bit angry from the outside, but I bought one anyway, waited until the flesh turned pink all the way round the outside and cut into it.

Oooooh! It looks like the neon pink sister of the kiwi! And I love the flavour, juicy, fresh and sweet.

Ingredients

Dragon fruit

1 kiwi

Gluten free oats

Soya yoghurt

What to do

Peel 1 kiwi

Chop 1 or two big slices of dragon fruit

A giant dollop of yoghurt in your serving bowl

A handful of gluten free oats on the top

A splash of water

Mix it up

Enjoy!

I did a bit of research on the dragon fruit after making this. It’s high in vitamin C, vitamin B (1,2 and 3!) antioxidants, calcium, phosphorous, iron,

Kiwi is full of vitamin C, vitamin A, folate, choline, calcium, magnesium, phosphorous, potassium, copper and manganese. It also is high in vitamin K.

Along with the oats and soya yoghurt, it makes for a truly nutritious breakfast 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment